Carbon Steel Naming Method

1. Carbon structural steel

Main use: various types of engineering. Usually, air-cooled after hot rolling, generally do not need to get heat treatment and use directly. This type of steel is divided into five grades according to its yield strength rating.

Name: glyph Q + minimum σS value - grade symbol + deoxidation degree symbol such as: Q235AF

Grade symbols: A, B, C, D (D level reached the high quality steel level)

2, high quality carbon structural steel

Main use: important parts. High-quality carbon structural steel can be used to adjust the mechanical properties of the part by heat treatment. Its state of delivery may be air-cooled after hot rolling, or it may be annealed or normalized. According to the national standard (GB/T699-1999), it is divided into three grades of high quality steel, high quality steel A and special grade high quality steel E.

Naming: It is represented by two digits, and the two digits indicate the carbon content of the steel. Such as: 45 steel WC = 0.45%

Commonly used grades: 08F, 15, 45, 60, etc.

3. Carbon tool steel (WC=0.65%~1.35% is high carbon steel)

Main use: Making a variety of small tools. Carbon tool steel can be quenched and tempered at low temperature to obtain high hardness and high wear resistance. Carbon tool steel can be divided into two categories: high quality and high quality.

Name: The symbol T+ is 1000 times the carbon content. Such as: T10 WC = 1.0%

Advanced quality grade adds A to the tail of the steel, such as T10A

4. Cast carbon steel for general engineering (cast steel)

Main use: casting complex parts that are difficult to form by forging and other methods with high mechanical properties;

Name: glyph ZG+ lowest σS value - lowest σb value such as: ZG340-640